Winner of the Competition Law Essay Competition 2014/2015

Séan O’Dea has been selected, unanimously, as the winner of this year’s Competition Law Essay Competition, for his essay “Developing a Competition Culture”.  The Society would like to congratulate Séan and to thank all those who entered the competition.

The Society would also like to express its sincere thanks to the members of the adjudicating panel for their time and continued dedication to the competition.  The adjudicating panel consists of:

  • The Hon. Mr. Justice Aindrias Ó Caoimh, Court of the Justice of the European Union (Chairman);
  • Mr. Noel Travers, SC; and
  • Mr. Gerald FitzGerald, Member of the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission.

Séan will be presented with a cheque for €500 at the upcoming Competition Law Forum event on 21 May, at which Prof. Richard Whish and Dr. Suzanne Kingston will provide an update on competition law developments in Europe and Ireland.  In addition, Séan’s essay will be eligible to be published in the Irish Journal of European Law.